HPU President Dr. Nido Qubein Elected President Of Big South Conference

HIGH POINT, N.C., June 9, 2009 – Dr. Nido Qubein, president of High Point University, was recently elected president of the Big South Conference during the League?s Council of Chief Executive Officers meeting, held May 29 in Rock Hill, S.C.
This will mark Qubein’s first year as a member of the Big South’s Executive Committee; he will serve his two-year term through the 2010-11 academic year.
“I am honored to have been selected to lead the Council of Chief Executive Officers and the Conference as a whole,” says Qubein. “I look forward to working with the member institutions and helping lead the Big South Conference toward a great future.”
The executive committee will also include Penelope W. Kyle, president of Radford University, as vice president; and Dr. Anne Ponder, chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Asheville, as secretary.
At High Point University, every student receives an extraordinary education in a fun environment with caring people. HPU, located in the Piedmont Triad region of North Carolina, is a liberal arts institution with 3,500 undergraduate and graduate students from more than 50 countries and more than 40 states at campuses in High Point and Winston-Salem. It is ranked by US News and World Report No. 5 among comprehensive universities in the South and No. 1 in its category among up-and-coming schools. Forbes.com ranks HPU in the top 6 percent among “America’s Best Colleges.” The university offers 66 undergraduate majors, 40 undergraduate minors and seven graduate degree programs. It is accredited by the Commission of Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and is a member of the NCAA, Division I and the Big South Conference. Visit High Point University on the Web at www.highpoint.edu.
The Big South Conference is celebrating its 25th Anniversary in 2008-09, and since its founding in 1983, the Conference has matured into a competitive leader in college athletics, actively pursuing excellence on the field of play and in the classroom. Comprised of 10 member institutions throughout the Southeast, the Big South continues to be a national leader on the field through its 18 championship sports while intentionally fostering the academic, personal, social, athletic and leadership development of each student-athlete. Charleston Southern University, Coastal Carolina University, Gardner-Webb University, High Point University, Liberty University, Presbyterian College, Radford University, UNC Asheville, Virginia Military Institute and Winthrop University comprise the membership of the Conference, which is based in Charlotte, N.C. Campbell University will join the Big South in 2011-12. The Big South is online at http://www.bigsouthsports.com/. Chris DudleyVice President for Administration336-841-4530cdudley@highpoint.edu

Share Button

Related Posts