High Point's University

46th Annual Community Prayer Breakfast

For 46 consecutive years, High Point University has brought the wider High Point faith community together for the Annual Prayer Breakfast. Each year, the annual event includes an inspiring message, special music provided by the HPU Chapel Choir directed by Dr. Elizabeth Doebler, as well as a silent prayer held in memory of alumni, members of the university family and the community, as well as other friends who have passed away during the past year.

This event sharpens the spiritual senses that joy and peace might take root during the Christmas season.

The 2016 Community Prayer Breakfast will take place on Friday December 2nd at 7:30am in the James H. and Jesse E. Millis Athletic and Convocation Center at High Point University.

2016 Featured speaker:

wirth-frank-2015-06-07-2-e1433035145596Dr. George Bryant Wirth is the Pastor Emeritus of First Presbyterian Church, Atlanta, Georgia. He served as Senior Pastor for 23 years (1990 to 2013), the longest tenure of any pastor in the church’s history. An authoritative pastoral voice in the nation and particularly in Atlanta, Dr. Wirth is a regular feature on Day1 Radio. Dr. Wirth co-chairs the Regional Council of Churches of Atlanta and is a member of the Board of Trustees of Princeton Theological Seminary, one of the most highly regarded theological institutions in the world.

THANK YOU to our dedicated sponsors.
Brady Services
Digger Enterprises, Inc.
Tom and Buren Haggai
Johnson’s Modern Electric Company
Smith & Jennings, Inc.

Parking and shuttle buses will be available from Oak Hollow Mall (921 Eastchester Drive, High Point) beginning at 6:45 a.m.

Parking for guests with disability plates and/or placards will be available at the James H. and Jesse E. Millis and Convocation Center.


2015 – Dr. Johnny M. Hunt became pastor of First Baptist Church of Woodstock, Georgia in December of 1986.  First Baptist Woodstock is one of the largest churches in the United States. Under his ministry the church has grown from 1,000 members to more than 19,000. In 1996, Dr. Hunt served as President of the Pastors’ Conference of the Southern Baptist Convention and served two terms as the President of the Southern Baptist Convention.

2014 – Rev. Dr. Richard Gibbons began his ministry as the tenth Senior Pastor of First Presbyterian Church of Greenville, SC, on September 1, 2007. Dr. Gibbons is a native of Scotland and served The Church of Scotland as a Regional Development Officer from August 1997 to August 2007. He holds joint honors in Ecclesiastical History and Systematic Theology from the University of Glasgow and a Doctor of Ministry Degree from Highland Theological College. Dr. Gibbons currently serves as co-chair to the ECO’s Theological Task Force.

Watch his video

2013 – A special message was delivered by Rev. Dr. Don Wilton, who is the senior pastor of First Baptist Church in Spartanburg, S.C. and also serves as a minister to the Rev. Billy Graham. Wilton’s message focused on the concept of life after death and the meaning of Christmas, as well as the significance of Nelson Mandela’s life and death on this occasion.

Watch his video

2012 – Rev. John Fitzgerald speaks at the 42nd Annual Prayer Breakfast
Rev. John Fizgerald’s transcript

2010 – Bishop Dale C. Bronner headlines 40th Annual Prayer Breakfast 

2009 – Dr. Kent Millard headlines 39th Annual Prayer Breakfast

2006 – Dr. Thomas G. Long headlines 36th Annual Prayer Breakfast

Community News

Qubein Broadens Vision for Downtown, Commits to Raising $38 Million in Private F…
read more
HPU Kicks off ‘Stamp Out Hunger Drive’ with Record Amount of Food
read more
View All

Community Enrichment Series Photos