MENU
David R. Hayworth College of Arts and Sciences
English
Major Information
Minor Information
Department of English
Additional Resources

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Kirstin Squint- ksquint@highpoint.edu
BA, Eureka College, MA, Miami University, PhD, Louisiana State University
Department Chair and Assistant Professor of English
214 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9645, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Jenn Brandt- jbrandt@highpoint.edu
BA, Drew University, MA, Bowling Green State University, PhD, University of Rhode Island
Assistant Professor of English and Director of Women’s and Gender Studies
209/210 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9558, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Charmaine Cadeau- ccadeau@highpoint.edu
BA, Trent University, BEd, Queen’s University, MA, University of New Brunswick, PhD, New York State University at Albany
Assistant Professor of English
211 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9630, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Matthew Carlson- mcarlson@highpoint.edu
BA, Wheaton College, MA, UNC-Chapel Hill, PhD, UNC-Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor of English
208 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9561, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. William Carpenter- wcarpent@highpoint.edu
BA College of New Jersey, MA Kansas State University, PhD University of Kansas
Director of First-Year Programs, David R. Hayworth College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor of English

218 Roberts
Phone: (336) 841-9339
Mr. Matthew Fiander- mfiander@highpoint.edu
BA, Elon University, MFA, UNC-Greensboro
Instructor
249-A Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9632, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Matthew Garite- mgarite@highpoint.edu
BA, Syracuse University, MA, Syracuse University, PhD, University at Buffalo (SUNY)
Instructor
120-E Wilson Commerce
Phone: (336) 841-1000, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Joseph Goeke- jgoeke0@highpoint.edu
BA, Southwest Missouri State University, MA, Southwest Missouri State University, PhD, University of South Carolina
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
249-B Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9633, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Nathan Hedman- nhedman@highpoint.edu
BA, Seattle Pacific University, MA, St. John's College, MAR, Yale Divinity School, MA, Northwestern University, PhD, Northwestern University
Assistant Professor of English and Theater
216 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9076, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Ms. Michele Johnson- mjohnso4@highpoint.edu
BA, St. Mary's College of Maryland, MFA, George Mason University
Instructor
207 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9591, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Cara Kozma- ckozma@highpoint.edu
BA, Evergreen State College, MA, Portland State University, PhD, Wayne State University
Assistant Professor of English
203 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9643, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Laura Linker- llinker@highpoint.edu
BA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, MA, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, PhD, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Assistant Professor of English
213 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9560, Fax: (336) 841-6394
Dr. Cheryl Marsh- cmarsh@highpoint.edu
BFA, University of North Carolina School of the Arts, MA, Western Carolina University, PhD, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Instructor
207 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9592, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Holly Middleton- hmiddlet@highpoint.edu
BA, Sam Houston State University, MA, University of Tennessee at Knoxville, PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Assistant Professor of English
206 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9456, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Jacob Paul- jpaul@highpoint.edu
BA, SUNY Buffalo, MFA, Vermont College of Fine Arts, PhD, University of Utah
Assistant Professor of English
212 Norcross
336-841-9559
Dr. Melissa Richard- mrichard@highpoint.edu
Instructor
318-B Wilson Commerce
Phone: (336) 841-9358, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Donna Scheidt- dscheidt@highpoint.edu
BA, University of Chicago, JD, Harvard Law School, PhD, University of Michigan
Assistant Professor of English
202 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9139, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Matthew Schneider- mschneid@highpoint.edu
BA, University of California – Berkeley, MA, University of Chicago, PhD, University of California – Los Angeles
Associate Dean, David R. Hayworth College of Arts and Sciences
Professor of English
121 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9073
Dr. Leah Schweitzer- lschweit@highpoint.edu
BFA, UNC-Greensboro, MA, University of Maryland, PhD, University of Louisville
Associate Professor of English
215 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9106, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Ms. Georgeanna Sellers- gsellers@highpoint.edu
BA, UNC-Greensboro, MA, UNC-Greensboro
Assistant Professor of English
204 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9657, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dr. Karen Summers- ksummer0@highpoint.edu
BA, Salem College, MA, UNC- Charlotte, PhD, UNC-Greensboro
Instructor
201 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9348, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Ms. Allison Walker- awalker@highpoint.edu
BA, Appalachian State University, MFA, University of Alaska Anchorage
Instructor
249-E Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9146, Fax: (336) 888-6394
Dana Yates- dyates@highpoint.edu
BS, High Point University
Office Manager
241 Norcross
Phone: (336) 841-9401, Fax: (336) 888-6331

CONTACT THE OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

The High Point Admissions Office is Located in Wrenn Hall.

Tours are available 7 days a week. Please contact us to schedule your visit.
(800) 345-6993
(336) 841-9216
(336) 888-6382 (fax)
admiss@highpoint.edu

English Department News

Etgar Keret
HPU to Host Israeli Author Keret
read more
Shannon Curley
HPU Senior Interns, Creates a Future at Hasbro
read more
View All

Upcoming Events

    Nov
    06
    11.06 - 7:00pm

    Speaker Series: Etgar Keret
    Nov
    20
    11.20 - 7:00pm

    Phoenix Reading Series: Nathaniel Mackey
    Jan
    29
    1.29 - 7:00pm

    Phoenix Reading Series: Lee Zacharias & Michael Gaspeny

English at HPU

Flickr Photostream

HPU SOCIAL
Connect with us
On the Social page, you can view all of High Point University’s social media feeds, connect to specific majors and schools on Facebook, and get the latest updates about what’s happening on campus.