MENU
Environmental Studies Minor

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Chris Fowler- cfowler@highpoint.edu
Director of Environmental Studies
Associate Professor of Chemistry
PhD Chemistry: University of Texas-Austin
BS Chemistry, Kalamazoo College
sandra-cooke-1024x1021Dr. Sandra Cooke- scooke@highpoint.edu
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science
PhD Earth and Environmental Science, Lehigh University
BA Zoology and Environmental Studies, Ohio Wesleyan University
ENV courses taught: Limnology, Issues in Environmental Science, Intro to Environmental Science, Global Change Ecology
Research Interests
chris-franksRev. Dr. Chris Franks- cfranks@highpoint.edu
Associate Professor of Religion and Philosophy
PhD Religion, Duke University
M.Div Duke University
BA Religion and English, Indiana University
ENV courses taught: Environmental Ethics
christian-georgeDr. Christian O. George- cgeorge@highpoint.edu
Assistant Professor of Biology
PhD Geological Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
MS Geological Sciences, University of Florida
BA Geosciences, Franklin & Marshall College
ENV courses taught: Intro to Environmental Science, Earth Science
Research Interests
daniel-hallDr. Daniel Hall- dhall@highpoint.edu
Assistant Professor of Economics
PhD Economics, Georgia State University
MA Economics, Georgia State University
BS Economics, Georgia State College and State University
ENV courses taught: Environmental Economics
Research Interests
michelle-huffman-e1421098924105-960x1024Ms. Michele Huffman- mjohnso4@highpoint.edu
Instructor of English
MFA, George Mason University
BA, St. Mary's College of Maryland
ENV courses taught: Ecology and Community
nicole-hughesDr. Niky Hughes- nhughes@highpoint.edu
Associate Professor of Biology
PhD Plant Ecophysiology, Wake Forest University
MS Biology, Appalachian State University
BS Biology and Education, Stetson University
ENV courses taught: Intro to Environmental Science, Global Change Ecology
Research Interests
jane-nichols1Dr. Jane Nichols- jnichols@highpoint.edu
Associate Professor of Interior Design
PhD Sustainability Education, Prescott College
MAIS Urban Studies & Gerontology
MSD Interior Design, Arizona State University
BA Sustainable Tourism Planning, Governor's State University
ENV courses taught: Global Issues in the Built Environment
karen-summers-e1421100385666-1024x1013Dr. Karen Summers- ksummer0@highpoint.edu
Instructor of English
PhD, UNC-Greensboro
MA, UNC- Charlotte
BA, Salem College
ENV courses taught: Ecoliterature
Dr. Mark Toole- mtoole@highpoint.edu
Assistant Professor of Religion and Philosophy
PhD Comparative Religious Studies, Asian Religious Traditions, University of Denver
M.Div Chicago Theological Seminary
BA Sociology, DePauw University
ENV courses taught: Asian Religions and Environmental Concerns
Research Interests
chelsea-wentworthDr. Chelsea Wentworth-Fournier- cwentwor@highpoint.edu
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
PhD Anthropology, University of Pittsburgh
MPH Behavioral & Community Health Sciences, University of Pittsburgh
BS Environmental Studies, Michigan State University
BA English, Michigan State University
ENV courses taught: Gender and Sustainability, Food and Culture
Research Interests

Upcoming Events

View All Events

Environmental Studies In The News

Class of 2018 Outcomes: Allison Holland
Class of 2018 Outcomes: Allison Holland Practices Philanthropy with the Peace Co…
read more
Fulbright
HPU Fulbright Will Study the Economics of Renewable Energy in Germany
read more
View All

Flickr Photostream: Environmental Studies