Modern Foreign Language Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Carole Head - chead@highpoint.edu
Ph.D. and M.A. in Medieval French Language and Literature University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, B.A. in French, University of Oklahoma
Department Chair, Professor of French
Office: Wilson 102
Phone: (336) 841-9289
Dr. Head teaches all levels of French, Intercultural Perspectives in Business, and a First Year Seminar on Epic and Arthurian literature of France and Germany. Areas of interest and research include medieval tapestries and manuscript illuminations, cross-cultural communication.
Dr. Claudia Femenias - cfemenia@highpoint.edu
Ph.D. and M.A. in Spanish from the University of Kansas.
Professor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 109
Phone: (336) 841-4594
Dr. Femenias teaches all levels of Spanish language, Latin American literature and culture. Areas of interest and research are Latin American women writers, contemporary Latin American culture and literature, and Hispanic film.
Dr. Jean-Francois Llorens - jLlorens@highpoint.edu
Ph.D. in French and Francophone literature of the 20th Century from the University of Massachusetts; , M.A. from the Universite de Paris, la Sorbonne, France;, B.A. lnstitut d'Etudes Politiques d'Aix-en-Provence, France.
Associate Professor of French
Office: Wilson 120
Phone: (336) 841-9186
Dr. Llorens teaches all levels of French and Global Studies courses relating to the Francophone world. Areas of interest include French literature of the 20th century, Francophone civilization and literature, audio-visual pedagogy.
Dr. Hayden Carron - hcarron@highpoint.edu
Ph.D. and M.A. in Spanish and Spanish-American literature from the Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain., B. A. Technological Institue of Santo Domingo.
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 119
Phone: (336) 841-9016
Dr. Carron teaches all levels of Spanish and a First Year Seminar on Caribbean Identity. Areas of research and interest include Latin American and Caribbean Culture and literature.
Ms. Carolyn Adams - cmitchel@highpoint.edu
M.A. in Spanish language and literature, concentration in linguistics from the University of New York at Buffalo., B.A. St. Bonaventure University.
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 114
Phone: (336) 841-4684
Ms. Adams teaches Spanish language courses and Spanish for the Medical Professions. Special interests include Spanish for the professions.
Ms. Teresa Parker - tparker@highpoint.edu
M.A. in Spanish literature from the University of South Carolina., B.A. Winthrop College.
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 113
Phone: (336) 841-9211
Ms. Parker teaches Spanish language, Spanish for Business, Methods of Teaching Foreign language. Special interests include foreign language pedagogy.
Mr. Jody Bowman - jbowman0@highpoint.edu
M.A. in Spanish language and linguistics from North Carolina State University., B.A. UNC-W.
Instructor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 118
Phone: (336) 841-9210
Research interests include second language acquisition for native Spanish speakers and Spanish sociolinguistics.
Ms. Judy Danley - jdanley@highpoint.edu
Masters in Education specializing in Chinese Education from the lnstitut Catholique de Paris., B.A. Dalian University of Technology, China.
Instructor of Chinese
Office: Wilson 111
Phone: (336) 841-9244
Ms. Judy Danley teaches all levels of Chinese and a first year seminar on Youth in China today. She also serves as the Advisor for international students.
Mr. Frank Freeman - ffreeman@highpoint.edu
M.B.A. from Elon University., M.A. in Spanish literature and linguistics from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro., B.A. East Carolina University.
Instructor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 118
Phone: (336) 841-9607
Research interests include foreign language pedagogy and teaching English to speakers of other languages.
Ms. Maria Jimenez de Richards - mjimenez@highpoint.edu
M.A., B.A. in Spanish from Portland State University.
Instructor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 115
Phone: (336) 841-9151
Areas of interest include foreign language pedagogy and Italian language and culture.
Ms. Maria Rosaria Laquale - mlaquale@highpoint.edu
M.A., B.A. in linguistics and Philology with specialization in English and French from the University of Bari, Italy.
Instructor of French and Italian
Office: Wilson 112
Phone: (336) 841-9293
Areas of interest include comparative literatures (Italian-French-English), contrastive grammar (Italian-French-English).
Ms. Margaret Maurer - mmaurer@highpoint.edu
M.A. in Medieval German literature from UNC-Chapel Hill., M.A. in Fiction Writing from the program for Writers at Warren Wilson College in Swannanoa, North Carolina.
Instructor of German and English
Office: Norcross 249-F
Phone: (336) 841-9077
Research interests include medieval romances, Middle High German lyric poetry, aesthetics and canon theory.
Ms. Virginia Nunez - vnunez@highpoint.edu
M.A. in Teaching English for Speakers of Other languages, Greensboro College., B.A. in Foreign language Teaching, UNLP University in La Plata, Argentina.
Instructor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 116
Phone: (336) 841-9219
Areas of expertise include foreign language pedagogy and international exchange.
Ms. Mina Ouakrim - mouakrim@highpoint.edu
M.A. in linguistics with a major in Arabic, Universite de Strasbourg, France.
Instructor of Arabic and French
Office: Wilson 120-L
Phone: (336) 841-9350
Areas of interest include foreign language pedagogy, Arabic language and culture, literature of the Maghreb of French expression.
Ms. Mariana Silva - msilva@highpoint.edu
M.A in Spanish Language and Linguistics from North Carolina State University;, B.A in Psychology from North Carolina State University
Instructor of Portuguese and Spanish
Office: Wilson 116
Phone: (336) 841-9460
Areas of interest include literary and empirical genres of translation and foreign language pedagogy.
Ms. Tonilena Soranno - tsoranno@highpoint.edu
M.A, B.A in Philosophy with specialization in Human Sciences from University 'Aldo Moro' Bari, Italy.
Instructor of Italian
Office: Wilson 120-M
Phone: (336) 841-9354
Areas of interest include Modern and Contemporary Italian Literature and Italian culture, Methods of Teaching Romance Languages, Pedagogy ,Psychology and Sociology.
Mr. Adam Winkel - awinkel@highpoint.edu
M.A and M.Phil. in Latin American and Iberian Studies from Columbia University., B.A. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 108
Phone: (336) 841-9312
Mr. Winkel teaches all levels of Spanish language, Hispanic literature and culture. His teaching and research interests include post-civil war Spanish literature and cultural studies, memory and trauma studies, Spanish visual art and media, and urban theory and cultural practices.