David R. Hayworth College of Arts and Sciences

Areas of Specialization

The Religion and Philosophy Department boasts one of HPU’s most distinguished faculties. The department includes 13 full time faculty members, and 92.3% of the faculty have obtained their doctorate degree. Seven members of the faculty are Phi Beta Kappa. The faculty hold degrees from a range of prestigious universities, including:

  • California-Riverside
  • Drew University
  • Duke University
  • Emory University
  • Graduate Theological Union
  • University of Denver
  • Stanford University
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Yale University

The Religion and Philosophy faculty also offer our students a unique set of specializations:

  1. Christian Ministry (Blosser, Franks)
  2. Business Ethics (Blosser, Brophy, Hupfer, Davidshofer)
  3. Modern German Philosophy (Blosser, MacArthur, Davidshofer)
  4. Theology and Economics (Blosser, Franks)
  5. Political Philosophy (Brophy, MacArthur)
  6. Philosophy of Science (Brophy, MacArthur)
  7. Ancient and Medieval Western Thought (Corcoran, Franks)
  8. Biblical Studies (Mbuvi, Moses)
  9. Comparative Religious Studies (Toole)
  10. Catholic Theology and Ethics (Ostrowski)
  11. Islam (Lipton)
  12. Feminist theology (Dreff)
  13. American religious history (Dreff)




The High Point Admissions Office is Located in Wrenn Hall.

Tours are available 7 days a week. Please contact us to schedule your visit.
(800) 345-6993
(336) 841-9216
(336) 888-6382 (fax)

Flickr Photostream: College of Arts & Sciences