MENU
High Point University
Physical Therapy
Major Information
Continuing Education
Additional Resources

Faculty and Staff

Eric J. Hegedus PT, DPT, MHSc, OCS- Professor and Founding Chair    email: ehegedus@highpoint.edu

Dr.  Hegedus has had a notable 21-year career as a leader and innovator in physical therapist education, research, and clinical practice. In addition to being the founding chair of HPU’s Physical Therapy Department, he is…more

Kevin R. Ford PhD, FACSM- Associate Professor   kford@highpoint.edu

Dr. Ford, Director of the Human Physiology and Biomechanics Laboratory, is an accomplished researcher in sports medicine and biomechanics. He has published over 80 peer reviewed articles which have been referenced over…more

James M. Smoliga DVM, PhD- Associate Professor   jsmoliga@highpoint.edu.

Dr. Smoliga, Associate Director of the Human Physiology and Biomechanics Laboratory, earned his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree at Cornell University and his PhD in Sports Medicine and Nutrition at the University…more

Jeffrey Taylor PT, DPT, OCS, SCS, CSCS- Assistant Professor   jtaylor@highpoint.edu

Dr.Taylor, Director of Clinical Education, was hired at HPU in 2012 after a stellar clinical career where he managed multiple outpatient physical therapy practices. In addition to his clinical education leadership, Dr Taylor assists…more

Mark Teaford PhD- Professor   email: mteaford@highpoint.edu

Dr. Teaford is an international leader in physical anthropology and an innovator in anatomy education. He did his undergraduate work in anthropology at the University of Pennsylvania,..more

Alexis A. Wright PT, PhD, DPT, FAAOMPT- Assistant Professor   email: awright@highpoint.edu

Dr.Wright received her Doctorate of Physical Therapy from Duke University in 2006 and since then, has gone on to receive her PhD from the University of Otago and fellowship training from Universiy of Illinois-Chicago…more

Physical Therapy at HPU

Flickr Photostream: School of Health Sciences

Accreditation Status

HPU SOCIAL
Connect with us
On the Social page, you can view all of High Point University’s social media feeds, connect to specific majors and schools on Facebook, and get the latest updates about what’s happening on campus.