MENU
Undergraduate Research and Creative Works

SuRF Mentors & ScholarBridge Registration

2018 Mentors:

Faculty Name and CredentialsDepartmentEmail AddressTitle of Project
Chris Bleakley, BSc, PhD
Physical Therapy
cbleakle@highpoint.eduExamining plantar pressure patterns during walking, functional and athletic activities in people with Chronic Ankle Instability
Jillian Davis, PhDExercise Sciencejdavis0@highpoint.eduGeometric Morphometrics of Jaw Muscle Attachment Sites in Carnivora, Chiroptera, and Xenarthra
Alicia Emerson, PT, DPT, MS, OCS, FAAOMPT
Physical Therapy
aemerson1@highpoint.eduUsing clinically relevant measures to identify and determine effectiveness in marginalized populations
Kevin Ford, PhDPhysical Therapy

kford@highpoint.edu
Biofeedback ACL injury prevention
Yum Nguyen, PhD, ATCAthletic Training

anguyen@highpoint.edu
Lower Extremity Injury Risk in Youth Athletes
Matthew Kuennen, PhDExercise Sciencemkuennen@highpoint.eduExercise at altitude: Gastrointestinal barrier damage and associated immune markers
Kyle Sunderland, PhDExercise Scienceksunderl@highpoint.eduEffect of rowing ergometer design on rowing performance
Jeff Taylor, DPT, PhD, OCS, SCS, CSCSPhysical Therapy
jtaylor@highpoint.eduReal-time optimized biofeedback utilizing sport techniques
Stephanie Trigsted, PhD, ATCAthletic Training
strigste@highpoint.eduThe relationship between impaired biomechanical function and physical activity in individuals after ACL reconstruction.
Roger Vaughan, PhDExercise Science
rvaughan@highpoint.edu
Effect of amino acids and related metabolites on skeletal muscle metabolism and mitochondrial biogenesis

How to Connect with a Mentor:

  1. Visit ScholarBridge.com
  2. Choose “Sign Up” in the top-right corner
  3. Identify yourself as a “Student”
  4. Enter your information (First and Last Name, University, Email, & Password)
  5. Be sure to use your High Point University officially issued email
  6. Search for a specific mentor’s name on project titles that interest you

index

SuRF Emblem

Contact Us

Dr. Joanne Altman, Director of Undergraduate Research and Creative Works

Phone: 336-841-9613
Email: urcw@highpoint.edu

URCW in the News

Summer Scholars Present Research at Symposium
read more
Students Study Animal Behavior in South Africa
read more
View All

Athletic Training & ACL Injuries

Andrea Baellow, an athletic training major, shares her experiences performing undergraduate research on the relation of the hip to ACL injuries and their prevalence in younger females. Her experiential education at High Point University was supported by the state of the art Human Biomechanics & Physiology Lab, where she could apply what she has learned with hands-on experience.