David R. Hayworth College of Arts and Sciences

Areas of Specialization

The Religion and Philosophy Department boasts one of HPU’s most distinguished faculties. The department includes 13 full time faculty members, and 92.3% of the faculty have obtained their doctorate degree. Five members of the faculty are Phi Beta Kappa. The faculty hold advanced degrees from a range of prestigious universities, including:

  • California-Riverside
  • Duke University
  • Emory University
  • Erskine
  • Graduate Theological Union
  • University of Denver
  • Oxford University
  • Stanford University
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Minnesota
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Yale University

The Religion and Philosophy faculty also offer our students a unique set of specializations:

  1. Christian Ministry (Blosser, Franks, Norwood, Stoneking, Waldenmaier)
  2. Business Ethics (Blosser, Brophy, Norwood)
  3. Modern German Philosophy (Blosser, MacArthur)
  4. Theology and Economics (Blosser, Franks)
  5. Political Philosophy (Brophy, MacArthur)
  6. Philosophy of Science (Brophy, MacArthur, Waldenmaier)
  7. Feminist Approaches to Religion and Philosophy (Lee)
  8. Ancient and Medieval Western Thought (Corcoran, Franks, Larsen)
  9. Biblical Studies (Norwood, Moses)
  10. Comparative Religious Studies (Toole, Waldenmaier)
  11. Catholic Theology and Ethics (Ostrowski, Larsen)


The High Point Admissions Office is Located in Wrenn Hall.

Tours are available 7 days a week. Please contact us to schedule your visit.
(800) 345-6993
(336) 841-9216
(336) 888-6382 (fax)

Flickr Photostream: College of Arts & Sciences

Religion at HPU