Music Students Advance in National Competition


HIGH POINT, N.C., Jan. 4, 2013 – Students from the High Point University department of music recently attended the National Association of Teachers of Singing state competition, where five students placed and will advance in the competition.

Fifteen students from the HPU department of music participated in the competition. Junior Alex Palmer, sophomores Madison Jordan and Ashley Siebeneichen, and freshmen Allyson Goff and Roxy Daneman, will all advance to the NATS regional competition in Charleston, S.C. in April. Jordan and Siebeneichen both took third place in their divisions.

Each student prepared four musical theatre selections and was allotted a 10-minute performance of the judges’ choice.

The HPU students were up against other established musical programs statewide including, Eastern Carolina University and Appalachian State University. 

“The upcoming regional competition in Charleston brings top performers from the mid-Atlantic region, including Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina,” says Scott MacLeod, assistant professor of music and co-chair of vocal studies at HPU. “The competition will certainly be steeper and the judging will also rise accordingly.”

Dr. Candice Burrows, instructor of music and co-chair of vocal studies at HPU, says it’s an honor for these students to be performing at such a level.

“We have some great talent here at HPU and the faculty is committed to helping each student achieve their musical goals. With that being said, we set up a pre-NATS recital so that all the contestants had the opportunity to perform in front of their peers prior to the actual competition,” Burrows says. “This proved very fruitful for us as a school of higher education. Only around 20 percent of students who audition at the state level pass on to the regional level. HPU registered 15 vocalists. This is a very exciting time.”

NATS is the largest professional association of teachers of singing in the world with more than 7,300 members in the U.S., Canada, and more than 25 other countries.

Be Sociable, Share!


      11.08 - 8:30am

      Fall Open House
      11.22 - 8:30am

      Fall Open House
    View the Full Calendar

    University News

    Junior Michelle Palombi informs buyers about products at Designmaster Furniture during the fall High Point Market.
    Industry Exposé: HPU Students Work at High Point Market
    read more
    Greensboro Symphony at HPU
    Greensboro Symphony to Present Beethoven’s “Eroica” at HPU
    read more
    James Tasca - Alex's Lemonade Stand
    Senior Competes in Triathlon for Cancer Research
    read more
    View All
    Connect with us
    On the Social page, you can view all of High Point University’s social media feeds, connect to specific majors and schools on Facebook, and get the latest updates about what’s happening on campus.