MENU
Wanek School of Natural Sciences
Biology

Faculty & Staff

Brett WoodsDr. Brett Woods- bwoods@highpoint.edu
Chair of Biology
PhD Biology, University of Kansas
BS Biology, University of California, Berkeley
Associate Professor of Biology
WSNS 311
(336) 841-9663
Kristin-Ackerman-860x1024Dr. Kristin Ackerman- kackerma@highpoint.edu
PhD Integrated Biomedical Sciences and Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
BS Biology, Ohio Northern University
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 348
(336) 841-9509
Research Interests
Heather-Ahrens-801x1024Dr. Heather Ahrens- hahrens@highpoint.edu
PhD Functional Anatomy and Evolution, Johns Hopkins University
MS Geological Sciences, University of Texas at Austin
BS Biology, Virginia Tech
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 449
(336) 841-9282
Research Interests
vernon-coffield-large1Dr. Neil Coffield- vcoffiel@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics and Molecular Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
BS Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 317
(336) 841-9394
Sandra-CookeDr. Sandra Cooke- scooke@highpoint.edu
PhD Earth and Environmental Science, Lehigh University
BA Zoology and Environmental Studies, Ohio Wesleyan University
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 318
(336) 841-9536
Research Interests
Dinene CraterDr. Dinene Crater- dcrater@highpoint.edu
PhD Microbiology and Immunology, Wake Forest University
BS Biology, Wingate University
Professor of Biology
WSNS 419
(336) 841-4602
Christian-George-976x1024Dr. Christian O. George- cgeorge@highpoint.edu
PhD Geological Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
MS Geological Sciences, University of Florida
BA Geosciences, Franklin & Marshall College
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 444
(336) 841-9654
Research Interests
Michael-Grider-804x1024Dr. Michael Grider- mgrider@highpoint.edu
PhD Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine
BS Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior, University of California – Davis
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 325
(336) 841-9179
Research Interests
Dr. Evelyn Hiatt- ehiatt@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, University of Georgia
MS Agronomy, Clemson University
BS Biology, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Instructor of Biology
WSNS 323
(336) 841-9482
Ms. Robin Hipps- rhipps@highpoint.edu
BA in Chemistry, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Lab Manager and Research Technician
WSNS 413
(336) 841-2819
Nicole-Hughes-2Dr. Niky Hughes- nhughes@highpoint.edu
PhD Plant Physiological Ecology, Wake Forest University
MS Biology, Appalachian State University
BS Biology and Education, Stetson University
Associate Professor of Biology
WSNS 316
(336) 841-4656
Research Interests
Todd-Lyda-e1475154920627-150x150Dr. Todd Lyda- tlyda@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, Clemson University
BS Biology, Erskine College
Instructor of Biology
WSNS 347
(336) 841-9787
Mr. Mike Rizzo- mrizzo@highpoint.edu
PhD Molecular Biology (ABD), Wake Forest University
BA Biology, University of Virginia
Instructor of Biology
WSNS 349
(336) 841-9787
ksappDr. Kelli Sapp- ksapp@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, University of New Mexico
MS Biology, Wake Forest University
BS Biology, Methodist College
Associate Professor of Biology
WSNS 414
(336) 841-4534
Veronica-SegarraDr. Veronica A. Segarra- vsegarra@highpoint.edu
PhD Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University
BS Biochemistry, University of Miami
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 313
(336) 841-9507
Research Interests
Jackson-Sparks-150x150Dr. Jackson Sparks- jsparks@highpoint.edu
PhD University of South Carolina
BS Duke University
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 351
(336) 841-9253
Research Interests
Y.-Kevin-Suh-150x150Dr. Y. Kevin Suh- ksuh@highpoint.edu
PhD Florida State University
BS Chonbuk University, Korea
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 309
(336) 841-9522
Research Interests
Dr. Davin Townley-Tilson- wtownley@highpoint.edu
PhD Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
BS Biology, Plymouth State University
Instructor of Biology
WSNS 326
(336) 841-9787
Cynthia-VigueiraDr. Cynthia Vigueira- cvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, Clemson University
BS Biology, Webster University
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 442
(336) 841-9618
Research Interests
Patrick-VigueiraDr. Patrick Vigueira- pvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, Clemson University
BS Biology, University of Southern Mississippi
Assistant Professor of Biology
WSNS 445
(336) 841-4603
Research Interests
Mrs. Rebecca Smoak - rsmoak@highpoint.edu
Administrative Assistant
WSNS 345
(336) 841-9402
Luke-DixonMr. Luke Dixon- ldixon@highpoint.edu
BS Biology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
BA Psychology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Lab Manager and Safety Officer
WSNS 410
(336) 841-9533

Biology at HPU

CONTACT THE OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

The High Point Admissions Office is Located in Wrenn Hall.

Tours are available 7 days a week. Please contact us to schedule your visit.
(800) 345-6993
(336) 841-9216
(336) 888-6382 (fax)
admiss@highpoint.edu

Biology In The News

HPU Biology Research Suggests Dual Domain Pedagogy Can Promote Classroom Equity
read more
scholarship
HPU Students, Faculty and Staff Recognized for Research and Innovation
read more
View All

Flickr Photostream: College of Arts & Sciences