MENU
Wanek School of Natural Sciences
Biology

Faculty & Staff

Angela-BauerDr. Angela Bauer- abauer@highpoint.edu
PhD Neuroscience, Northwestern University
BA Psychology/Neuroscience, Lawrence University
Professor and Chair of Biology
Couch 214
(336) 841-9501
Research Interests
Kristin-Ackerman-860x1024Dr. Kristin Ackerman- kackerma@highpoint.edu
PhD Integrated Biomedical Sciences and Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
BS Biology, Ohio Northern University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 237A
(336) 841-9509
Research Interests
Heather-Ahrens-801x1024Dr. Heather Ahrens- hahrens@highpoint.edu
PhD Functional Anatomy and Evolution, Johns Hopkins University
MS Geological Sciences, University of Texas at Austin
BS Biology, Virginia Tech
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 219
(336) 841-9282
Research Interests
vernon-coffield-large1Dr. Neil Coffield- vcoffiel@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics and Molecular Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
BS Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 212
(336) 841-9394
Sandra-CookeDr. Sandra Cooke- scooke@highpoint.edu
PhD Earth and Environmental Science, Lehigh University
BA Zoology and Environmental Studies, Ohio Wesleyan University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 251
(336) 841-9536
Research Interests
Dinene CraterDr. Dinene Crater- dcrater@highpoint.edu
PhD Microbiology and Immunology, Wake Forest University
BS Biology, Wingate University
Professor of Biology
Couch 248
(336) 841-4602
Christian-George-976x1024Dr. Christian O. George- cgeorge@highpoint.edu
PhD Geological Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
MS Geological Sciences, University of Florida
BA Geosciences, Franklin & Marshall College
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 362
(336) 841-9654
Research Interests
Michael-Grider-804x1024Dr. Michael Grider- mgrider@highpoint.edu
PhD Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine
BS Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior, University of California – Davis
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 213
(336) 841-9179
Research Interests
Dr. Evelyn Hiatt- ehiatt@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, University of Georgia
MS Agronomy, Clemson University
BS Biology, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Instructor of Biology
Couch 141
(336) 841-9787
Nicole-Hughes-2Dr. Niky Hughes- nhughes@highpoint.edu
PhD Plant Physiological Ecology, Wake Forest University
MS Biology, Appalachian State University
BS Biology and Education, Stetson University
Associate Professor of Biology

Couch 136
(336) 841-4656
Research Interests
Todd-Lyda-e1475154920627-150x150Dr. Todd Lyda- tlyda@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, Clemson University
BS Biology, Erskine College
Instructor of Biology
Couch 141
(336) 841-9787
Mr. Mike Rizzo- mrizzo@highpoint.edu
PhD Molecular Biology (ABD), Wake Forest University
BA Biology, University of Virginia
Instructor of Biology
Couch 141
(336) 841-9787
ksappDr. Kelli Sapp- ksapp@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, University of New Mexico
MS Biology, Wake Forest University
BS Biology, Methodist College
Associate Professor of Biology
Couch 250
(336) 841-4534
Veronica-SegarraDr. Veronica A. Segarra- vsegarra@highpoint.edu
PhD Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University
BS Biochemistry, University of Miami
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 237B
(336) 841-9507
Research Interests
Jackson-Sparks-150x150Dr. Jackson Sparks- jsparks@highpoint.edu
PhD University of South Carolina
BS Duke University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 218A
(336) 841-9253
Research Interests
Y.-Kevin-Suh-150x150Dr. Y. Kevin Suh- ksuh@highpoint.edu
PhD Florida State University
BS Chonbuk University, Korea
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 218B
(336) 841-9522
Research Interests
Dr. Davin Townley-Tilson- wtownley@highpoint.edu
PhD Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
BS Biology, Plymouth State University
Instructor of Biology
Couch 141
(336) 841-9787
Cynthia-VigueiraDr. Cynthia Vigueira- cvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, Clemson University
BS Biology, Webster University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 217
(336) 841-9618
Research Interests
Patrick-VigueiraDr. Patrick Vigueira- pvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, Clemson University
BS Biology, University of Southern Mississippi
Assistant Professor of Biology
Couch 211
(336) 841-4603
Research Interests
Brett WoodsDr. Brett Woods- bwoods@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, University of Kansas
BS Biology, University of California, Berkeley
Associate Professor of Biology
Couch 249
(336) 841-9663
Mrs. Rebecca Smoak - rsmoak@highpoint.edu
Administrative Assistant
Couch 235
(336) 841-9402
Luke-DixonMr. Luke Dixon- ldixon@highpoint.edu
BS Biology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
BA Psychology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Lab Manager and Safety Officer
Couch 239
(336) 841-9533
Mrs. Candace Loftis- cloftis@highpoint.edu
BS Biology, LeTourneau University
Lab Manager and Safety Officer
Couch 239
(336) 841-9751

Biology at HPU

CONTACT THE OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

The High Point Admissions Office is Located in Wrenn Hall.

Tours are available 7 days a week. Please contact us to schedule your visit.
(800) 345-6993
(336) 841-9216
(336) 888-6382 (fax)
admiss@highpoint.edu

Biology In The News

Molly Hulver
Class of 2019: Molly Hulver Pursues Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
read more
Sharing Science: HPU’s Mobile Lab Visits Quarry Park in Winston-Salem
read more
View All

Flickr Photostream: College of Arts & Sciences