MENU
David R. Hayworth College of Arts and Sciences
Biology

Faculty & Staff

Angela-BauerDr. Angela Bauer- abauer@highpoint.edu
PhD Neuroscience, Northwestern University
BA Psychology/Neuroscience, Lawrence University
Professor and Chair of Biology
Congdon 214
(336) 841-9501
Research Interests
Kristin-Ackerman-860x1024Dr. Kristin Ackerman- kackerma@highpoint.edu
PhD Integrated Biomedical Sciences and Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
BS Biology, Ohio Northern University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 237A
(336) 841-9509
Research Interests
Heather-Ahrens-801x1024Heather Ahrens- hahrens@highpoint.edu
MS Geological Sciences, University of Texas at Austin
BS Biology, Virginia Tech
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 219
(336) 841-9282
Research Interests
vernon-coffield-large1Dr. Neil Coffield- vcoffiel@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics and Molecular Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
BS Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 212
(336) 841-9394
Sandra-CookeDr. Sandra Cooke- scooke@highpoint.edu
PhD Earth and Environmental Science, Lehigh University
BA Zoology and Environmental Studies, Ohio Wesleyan University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 251
(336) 841-9536
Research Interests
Dinene CraterDr. Dinene Crater- dcrater@highpoint.edu
PhD Microbiology and Immunology, Wake Forest University
BS Biology, Wingate University
Professor of Biology
Congdon 248
(336) 841-4602
Christian-George-976x1024Dr. Christian O. George- cgeorge@highpoint.edu
PhD Geological Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin
MS Geological Sciences, University of Florida
BA Geosciences, Franklin & Marshall College
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 362
(336) 841-9654
Research Interests
Michael-Grider-804x1024Dr. Michael Grider- mgrider@highpoint.edu
PhD Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine
BS Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior, University of California – Davis
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 213
(336) 841-9179
Research Interests
Nicole-Hughes-2Dr. Niky Hughes- nhughes@highpoint.edu
PhD Plant Physiological Ecology, Wake Forest University
MS Biology, Appalachian State University
BS Biology and Education, Stetson University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 136
(336) 841-4656
Research Interests
Todd-Lyda-e1475154920627-150x150Dr. Todd Lyda- tlyda@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, Clemson University
BS Biology, Erskine College
Instructor of Biology
Congdon 141
(336) 841-9787
Dr. Kelli Sapp- ksapp@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, University of New Mexico
MS Biology, Wake Forest University
BS Biology, Methodist College
Associate Professor of Biology
Congdon 249
(336) 841-4534
Veronica-SegarraDr. Veronica A. Segarra- vsegarra@highpoint.edu
PhD Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University
BS Biochemistry, University of Miami
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 237B
(336) 841-9507
Research Interests
Dr. Chuck Smith- csmith@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
MS Biology, University of Kentucky
BS Zoology, University of Kentucky
Associate Professor of Biology
Congdon 250
(336) 841-9256
Jackson-Sparks-150x150Dr. Jackson Sparks- jsparks@highpoint.edu
PhD University of South Carolina
BS Duke University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 218A
(336) 841-9253
Research Interests
Y.-Kevin-Suh-150x150Dr. Y. Kevin Suh- ksuh@highpoint.edu
PhD Florida State University
BS Chonbuk University, Korea
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 218B
(336) 841-9522
Research Interests
Cynthia-VigueiraDr. Cynthia Vigueira- cvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, Clemson University
BS Biology, Webster University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 210
(336) 841-9618
Research Interests
Patrick-VigueiraDr. Patrick Vigueira- pvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, Clemson University
BS Biology, University of Southern Mississippi
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 211
(336) 841-4603
Research Interests
Brett WoodsDr. Brett Woods- bwoods@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, University of Kansas
BS Biology, University of California, Berkeley
Associate Professor of Biology
Congdon 217
Rebecca Smoak - rsmoak@highpoint.edu
Administrative Assistant
Congdon 235
(336) 841-9402
Luke-DixonMr. Luke Dixon- ldixon@highpoint.edu
BS Biology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
BA Psychology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Lab Manager and Safety Officer
Congdon 239
(336) 841-9533

Biology In The News

Matt Warrick
September Extraordinary Leader: ‘A Seeker of Truth’
read more
Say Yes Group Photo
HPU Welcomes Say Yes and First Generation Scholarship Recipients
read more
Enriching-the-Mind-Heart-Soul
Enriching the Mind, Heart and Soul
read more
View All

Flickr Photostream: College of Arts & Sciences

Biology at HPU