MENU
David R. Hayworth College of Arts and Sciences
Biology

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Angela Bauer- abauer@highpoint.edu
PhD Neuroscience, Northwestern University
BA Psychology/Neuroscience, Lawrence University
Professor and Chair of Biology
Congdon 217
(336) 841-9501
Dr. Kristin Ackerman- kackerma@highpoint.edu
PhD Integrated Biomedical Sciences and Neuroscience, The Ohio State University
BS Biology, Ohio Northern University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 237A
(336) 841-9509
Dr. Heather Ahrens- hahrens@highpoint.edu
PhD Functional Anatomy and Evolution, Johns Hopkins University
MS Geological Sciences, University of Texas at Austin
BS Biology, Virginia Tech
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 219
(336) 841-9282
Dr. Kristen Bowey- kbowey@highpoint.edu
PhD Biomedical Engineering, McGill University
BScE Chemical Engineering, Queen’s University
Lab Manager and Research Scientist
Congdon 239
(336) 841-9663
Dr. Neil Coffield - vcoffiel@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics and Molecular Biology, UNC Chapel Hill, BS Biology, UNC Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 212
(336) 841-9394
Dr. Sandra Cooke- scooke@highpoint.edu
PhD Earth and Environmental Science, Lehigh University, BS Zoology and Environmental Studies, Ohio Wesleyan University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 251
(336) 841-9536
Dr. Dinene Crater- dcrater@highpoint.edu
PhD Microbiology and Immunology, Wake Forest University, BS Biology, Wingate University
Associate Professor of Biology
Congdon 248
(336) 841-4602
Mr. Luke Dixon- ldixon@highpoint.edu
BS Biology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
BA Psychology, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Lab Manager and Safety Officer
Congdon 239
(336) 841-9533
Dr. Christian O. George- cgeorge@highpoint.edu
PhD Geological Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin, MS Geological Sciences, University of Florida
BA Geosciences, Franklin & Marshall College
Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 362
(336) 841-9654
Dr. Michael Grider- mgrider@highpoint.edu
PhD Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine
BS Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior, University of California – Davis
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 213
(336) 841-9179
Dr. Niky Hughes- nhughes@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, Wake Forest University, MS Biology, Appalachian State University
BS Biology and Education, Stetson University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 214
(336) 841-4656
Dr. Kelli Sapp- ksapp@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, University of New Mexico, MS Biology, Wake Forest University
BS Biology, Methodist College
Associate Professor of Biology
Congdon 249
(336) 841-4534
Dr. Veronica A. Segarra- vsegarra@highpoint.edu
PhD Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University
BS Biochemistry, University of Miami
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 237B
(336) 841-9507
Dr. Chuck Smith- csmith@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, UNC Chapel Hill, MS Biology, University of Kentucky, BS Zoology, University of Kentucky
Associate Professor of Biology
Congdon 250
(336) 841-9256
Dr. Cynthia Vigueira- cvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Genetics, Clemson University
BS Biology, Webster University
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 210
(336) 841-9618
Dr. Patrick Vigueira- pvigueir@highpoint.edu
PhD Biology, Clemson University
BS Biology, University of Southern Mississippi
Assistant Professor of Biology
Congdon 211
(336) 841-4603
Rebecca Smoak - rsmoak@highpoint.edu
Administrative Assistant
Congdon 235
(336) 841-9402

Biology In The News

Gabby Hayes
Senior Crowdfunds Research on Antibiotic Resistance and Honey
read more
Lauren Mantikas
Class of 2016 Profile: Lauren Mantikas Manages Dental Office
read more
Laura Bernitsky
April Extraordinary Leader: Her Journey of Discovery
read more
View All

Flickr Photostream: College of Arts & Sciences

Biology at HPU