Nido R. Qubein School of Communication

Dean’s Advisory Council

The Dean’s Advisory Council is comprised of individuals who have established careers in the communication fields related to programs offered in the School of Communication. The Council meets onsite at least once each year. The Council’s principle function is to review School operations and curriculum and provide input on how the program can continue to exemplify industry best practices and to better serve various constituencies. The board will also randomly review a sample of student senior portfolios and provide feedback as to the quality of work in comparison to other institutions.

Advisory Council Members

Chair: David Neal
Executive Producer
Fox Sports World Cup

Lenora Billings-Harris
Excel Development Systems, Inc.

Tom Blount
Former Editor
High Point Enterprise

David French
Vice President, Client Strategy and Service
RLF Communications

Megan Garafola
Senior Director, Digital & Social Media Marketing
Marriott International
(HPU Alum)

Dave Goren
Executive Director
National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association

Kristi Griggs
President & CEO

William B. Hansen, Ph.D.
Tanglewood Research

James E. Himes, Jr.
President/General Manager
WGHP Television, Fox 8

Bernie Mann
President, Mann Media
Our State Magazine

Tom McCarthy
President and CEO
Progressive Sports Management

Steve Mitchem
US Airways Magazine

Gwenn Noel
Senior Manager, Employee Experience
Olympus Corporation of the Americas

Lisa Powell
Vice President Sales
Entercom Communications

Stephanie Saintsing Naset
Executive Director
North Carolina Association of Festivals and Events

Brett Sowell
Vice President of Digital Assets and University Partnerships
IMG College

Sarah Belle Tate
Senior Director of Events and Marketing
Business High Point-Chamber of Commerce
(HPU Alum)

Megan Ward
High Point Enterprise

Jennifer Whisnant
Senior Account Executive
Quixote Group Research, Marketing & PR

Amber Williamson
Manager of Communications & Programs
Business High Point-Chamber of Commerce
(HPU Alum)

Communication at HPU


The High Point Admissions Office is Located in Wrenn Hall.

Tours are available 7 days a week. Please contact us to schedule your visit.

(800) 345-6993
(336) 841-9216
(336) 888-6382 (fax)

Faculty & Student Headlines

Class of 2020 Outcomes: Courtney Kerr Continues her Career in Communication
read more
Class of 2020 Outcomes: Laney Badulis Utilizes Her Communication Major
read more
Class of 2020 Outcomes: Ally Pratapas Markets for Marzano Capital
read more
View All
Nido Qubein School of Communication
Academic Prospectus

School of Communication Photos