MENU
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Arden Anderson
aanders6@highpoint.edu
BS - Wofford College
MS - East Carolina University
PhD - Texas A&M University
Assistant Professor of Sport Management
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 329
Phone: 336-841-2863
Read More
Brenda Armentrout
barmentr@highpoint.edu
BS – Davis & Elkins College
MS, MA – West Virginia University
Adjunct Instructor of Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 364
Dr. Kristina Bell
kbell@highpoint.edu
BFA – University of North Carolina School of the Arts
MA – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
PhD – NC State University
Director of Media Fellows Program
Assistant Professor of Communication

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 341
Phone: 336-841-9334
Dr. Vern Biaett
vbiaett@highpoint.edu
BA – University of Utah
MS, PhD – Arizona State University
Chair, Event Management
Assistant Professor of Event Management

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 337
Phone: 336-841-9617
Read More
Bob Buckley
rbuckley@highpoint.edu
Bachelor of Journalism – University of Missouri-Columbia
Master of Broadcast Journalism – University of Missouri-Columbia
Adjunct Instructor of Journalism
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 364
Dr. Brianna Clark
bclark1@highpoint.edu
BS, MA – University of Connecticut
PhD – Clemson University
Assistant Professor of Event Management
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 320
Phone: 336-841-9837
Dr. Gabriel Cruz
gcruz2@highpoint.edu
BA, MA – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
PhD – Bowling Green State University
Instructor of Communication

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 308
Phone: 336-841-9797
Dr. Michelle Devlin
mdevlin@highpoint.edu
BM - James Madison University
MM, DMA - University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Administrative Assistant
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 361
Phone: 336-841-9043
Gregory Drumwright
gdrumwri@highpoint.edu
BA, MA – North Carolina A&T State University
MDiv - Wake Forest University
Adjunct Instructor of Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 364
Dr. Nahed Eltantawy
neltanta@highpoint.edu
BA, MA – American University in Cairo
PhD – Georgia State University
Associate Dean
Associate Professor of Journalism

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 357
336-841-9175
Jim Goodman
jgoodman@highpoint.edu
BS – High Point College
MBA – University of Georgia
MFA – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Chair, Popular Culture and Media Production
Assistant Professor of Popular Culture and Media Production

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 356
Phone: 336-841-9331
Mary Ann Graham
mgraham@highpoint.edu
BS - University of South Alabama
Equipment Room Manager
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 208
Phone: 336-841-9306
Dr. Doug Hall
dhall1@highpoint.edu
BA – Indiana University – Kokomo
MS – North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
PhD – Hampton University
Adjunct Instructor of Communication
Assistant Director of Career & Professional Development

Cottrell Hall, Suite 107
Phone: 336-841-9338
Read More
Dr. Stefan Hall
shall@highpoint.edu
BA, MA – Virginia Tech
PhD – Bowling Green State University
Chair, Game and Interactive Media Design
Associate Professor of Game and Interactive Media Design

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 340
Phone: 336-841-9567
Josh Harris
jharris@highpoint.edu
BA – Western Carolina University
MFA – Wake Forest University
Adjunct Instructor of Communication
Media Supervisor, High Point University Libraries

Smith Library
Phone: 336-841-9462
Dr. Bobby Hayes
bhayes@highpoint.edu
BA – Mars Hill College
PhD – Walden University Institute for Advanced Studies
Chair, Journalism and Sport Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 353
336-888-6310
Brian Heagney
bheagney@highpoint.edu
BA – Guilford College
M-Arch – Pratt Institute
Instructor of Game and Interactive Media Design
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 307
Phone: 336-841-9063
Read More
Dr. Florian Hemme
fhemme@highpoint.edu
BS – Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
MS – University of Groningen
M.Ed., PhD – The University of Texas at Austin
Assistant Professor of Sport Management
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 315
Phone: 336-841-9819
Read More
Dr. Judy Isaksen
jisaksen@highpoint.edu
BA, MA, PhD – University of South Florida
Professor of Popular Culture and Media Production
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 345
Phone: 336-841-6308
Read More
Brad Lambert
blambert@highpoint.edu
BA – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
MAT – Vanderbilt University
MFA – American University
Graduate Director
Associate Professor of Communication

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 355
Phone: 336-841-9332
Read More
Jennifer Lambert
jlambert@highpoint.edu
BA – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Master of Health Administration – Pfeiffer University
Adjunct Instructor of Event Management
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 364
Read More
Dr. Brandon Lenoir
blenoir@highpoint.edu
BS – Idaho State University
MA, PhD – University of Pittsburgh
Assistant Professor Political Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 342
Phone: 336-841-9869
Dr. Jenny Lukow
jlukow@highpoint.edu
BA – Lynchburg College
MS – Indiana State University
PhD – Indiana University
Chair, Sport Management Department
Associate Professor of Sport Management
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 354
Phone: 336-841-9184
Giselle Mansi
gmanside@highpoint.edu
Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education, Master’s degree in Education with a Literacy concentration - High Point University
Student Success Coach for the Event Management, Sport Management, Sport Communication and Journalism majors in the Nido R. Qubein School of Communication
Cottrell Hall 2nd floor
Phone: 336-841-9782
Read More
Dr. Laura H. Marshall
lmarshal@highpoint.edu
BS – Bowling Green State University
MA, PhD – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor of Strategic Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 321
Phone: 336-841-9843
Read More
Dr. Curtis B. Matthews
cmatthew@highpoint.edu
BA, MA, PhD – Texas Tech University
Associate Professor of Strategic Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 335
336-841-9816
Dr. Patrick McConnell
pmcconne@highpoint.edu
BA – Humboldt State University
MA – University of North Carolina at Charlotte
PhD – University of Georgia
Associate Professor of Sport Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 358
Phone: 336-841-9710
Read More
Dr. Virginia McDermott
vmcdermo@highpoint.edu
BA – The College of New Jersey
MA – Texas State University
PhD – The University of Illinois
Dean
Professor of Strategic Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 363
Phone: 336-841-9384
Read More
Ken Medlin
kmedlin1@highpoint.edu
BA – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
MS – North Carolina State University
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 365
Phone: 336-841-9854
Joe Michaels
jmichae1@highpoint.edu
BA – Seton Hall University
Broadcaster in Residence
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 306
Phone: 336-841-9711
John Mims
jmims@highpoint.edu
BA – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
MBA – Pfeiffer University
Chair, Strategic Communication
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Strategic Communication

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 347
Phone: 336-841-9398
Read More
Don Moore
dmoore@highpoint.edu
BA - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Technical Operations Manager
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 378
Phone: 336-841-9171
Rob Powell
rpowell@highpoint.edu
BA – Asbury College
MA – Kent State University
Chair, Media Production and Entrepreneurship
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Communication

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 348
Phone: 336-841-9642
David Radanovich, APR
dradanov@highpoint.edu
BA – Ohio University
MS – Quinnipiac University
Core Courses Coordinator
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Strategic Communication

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 336
Phone: 336-841-9712
Read More
Dr. Matt Ritter
mritter@highpoint.edu
BA – Tocoa Falls College
MA – High Point University
PhD – Regent University
Assistant Professor of Strategic Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 316
Phone: 336-841-9623
Read More
Jim Scott
jscott@highpoint.edu
BA – High Point University
MA – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Communication
Director of the Summer Advantage Program

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 317
Phone: 336-841-9823
Dr. Dean Smith
dsmith1@highpoint.edu
BM – UNC School of the Arts
MSL – Yale Law School
PhD, Certificate in New Media Studies – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor of Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 349
Phone: 336-841-9099
Kim Strable
kstrable@highpoint.edu
BA – Albion College
MA – Western Michigan University
Adjunct Instructor of Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 364
Barry Thornburg
bthornbu@highpoint.edu
BA – Brigham Young University
MFA – University of North Texas
Assistant Professor of Media Production and Entrepreneurship
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 362
Phone: 336-841-9515
Read More
Dr. Jim Y. Trammell
jtrammel@highpoint.edu
BA – Asbury College
MA – University of Georgia
PhD – University of Iowa
Associate Professor of Communication
QEP Director

Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 344
Phone: 336-841-9172
Read More
Dr. Kelly Tran
ktran@highpoint.edu
BA, MA – University of Florida
PhD – Arizona State University
Assistant Professor of Game and Interactive Media Design
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 324
Phone: 336-841-9855
Read More
Dr. Sarah E. Vaala
svaala@highpoint.edu
BS – Davidson College
MA, PhD – University of Pennsylvania
Assistant Professor of Strategic Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 323
Phone: 336-841-9849
Phil Watson
pwatson@highpoint.edu
BA – Swarthmore College
MBA – Harvard University
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Strategic Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 366
Phone: 336-841-9635
Matt Wells
mwells@highpoint.edu
BA, MA – High Point University
Adjunct Instructor of Communication
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 364
Read More
Jessica Wiitala
jwiitala@highpoint.edu
BS - Lasell College
MBA - DeVry University
Assistant Professor of Event Management
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 328
Phone: 336-841-2805
Travis Wright
twright2@highpoint.edu
M.Ed. in Higher Education - University of North Carolina at Wilmington
Bachelor of Arts in English Literature with honors - Appalachian State University
Student Success Coach for Strategic Communication, Media Production and Entrepreneurship, Popular Culture and Media Production and Game and Interactive Media Design majors in the Nido R. Qubein School of Communication
Cottrell Hall 2nd floor
Phone: 336-841-9796
Read More
Martin Yount
myount@highpoint.edu
BA - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Director of Student Media
Nido R. Qubein School of Communication 333
Phone: 336-841-9356

Communication at HPU

CONTACT THE OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

The High Point Admissions Office is Located in Wrenn Hall.

Tours are available 7 days a week. Please contact us to schedule your visit.

(800) 345-6993
(336) 841-9216
(336) 888-6382 (fax)
admiss@highpoint.edu

Faculty & Student Headlines

Class of 2019 Outcomes: Livy Beaner Broadens her Journalism Experience
read more
HPU’s Event Management Program Awarded Pinnacle Award for Fourth Straight Year
read more
Internship Profile: Aidan Jensen Builds Connections with the Burlington Royals
read more
View All

Flickr Photostream: School of Communication