Bob Ryan of The Boston Globe Joins HPU as Sports Reporter in Residence

HIGH POINT, N.C., Jan. 28, 2019 – High Point University has named Bob Ryan, retired sports columnist for The Boston Globe, as Sports Reporter in Residence. Ryan is visiting HPU Jan. 29-30 to work with students in the Nido R. Qubein School of Communication. He has previously worked and developed strong rapport with HPU faculty and students.

Ryan has been writing for the Globe since 1968, covering all of Boston’s sports teams. Ryan’s work still appears in the Globe semi-regularly. He is a regular panelist on ESPN’s Sunday morning roundtable, “The Sports Reporters,” and has been described as the “quintessential American sportswriter” and a basketball guru. Ryan is well-known for his coverage of basketball and for his stories covering the Boston Celtics in the 1970s.

Ryan joins other global leaders who serve in residence by mentoring HPU students. This includes Netflix Co-Founder Marc Randolph, HPU’s Entrepreneur in Residence; Apple Co-Founder Steve Wozniak, HPU’s Innovator in Residence; ABC News’ Byron Pitts, HPU’s Journalist in Residence; and Scott McKain, best-selling author, business consultant and trainer.

“We’re thrilled to have Bob Ryan as our Sports Reporter in Residence,” says Dr. Ginny McDermott, interim dean for HPU’s Nido R. Qubein School of Communication. “Not only does he provide our students an insider’s look at the industry, he mentors them through their writing process and helps them make connections for internships and jobs. The students especially appreciate going to basketball games with Bob and talking with him about how he would write the story.”

HPU started a student chapter of the National Sports Media Association, where Zach Tucker, class of 2018, volunteered with the organization in summer 2017. During the annual meeting and Hall of Fame induction ceremony, Tucker met Ryan and invited him to visit HPU to mentor students.

Through the years, Ryan has received many awards and honors. Most recently in 2015, he received the PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing. He’s received the Dick Schaap Award for Outstanding Journalism; Curt Gowdy Award from the Basketball Hall of Fame; College Basketball Writers and New England Basketball Halls of Fame; the Associated Press awarded him “National Sportswriter of the Year;” and he received the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association National Sportswriter of the Year four times in 2000, 2007, 2008 and 2009.

Share Button

Related Posts