Cohort II

HPU welcomed the second cohort of principal candidates to the Leadership Academy.  Cohort II  began their journey to earning an M.Ed. in Educational Leadership in May 2017.

Cohort II at the Center for Creative Leadership

Dr. Qubein and Mayor Wagner visits Cohort II during Leadership Meeting

Culminating Projects

Wrap Up Video
Hashtag Video

Leadership Collaboration – Cohorts I and II 

The Instructional Leadership Institute

STEM Leadership

Organizational Management & Legal Issues for 21st Century Schools

Jennifer Cooper

Jennifer Cooper, assistant principal at Montlieu Elementary and Cohort II graduate presents at CREATE Conference at HPU (10/11/19).

Congratulations Beth Dodson, Cohort II, for being named Davie County’s Special Education Program Specialist!

Cohort III

HPU is pleased to welcome the third cohort of principal candidates to the Leadership Academy.  Beginning in August 2018, these individuals start their journey to earning an M.Ed. in Educational Leadership.

Click here for the Culminating Event Video 

Academy Cohorts III and IV are Underway

The HPU Leadership Academy began its third cohort in the fall of 2018 and is excited to begin work with its fourth cohort in January 2019. Cohort III has 17 candidates representing  partnering districts which include Alamance-Burlington Schools, Asheboro City Schools, Cabarrus County Schools, Elkin City Schools, Mount Airy City Schools, Newton-Conover City Schools, Lincoln County Schools, Vance County Schools, Winston-Salem/Forsyth Schools, and Yadkin County Schools.

The seventeen candidates came together for the first time on August 1 for a day long orientation.  During this orientation, they were provided with expectations, guidelines, fun activities, and a campus tour. They were also able to meet and discuss the program with members from cohort I & II of the HPULA. What a great group! We look forward to working with them on this journey!

Cohort IV has 16 candidates who will represent  partnering districts which include Asheboro City Schools, Davie County Schools, Guilford County Schools, Lincoln County Schools and Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools. They will come together for the first time on January 11, 2019 for an extensive orientation reflective of cohort III’s orientation.

Cohort III Student, Randy Raines, Facilitates Open Space Forum
Click here to view highlights of Cohort III student, Randy Raines, during his internship.  Randy Raines facilitates an Open Space Forum with teachers during his internship.

Keisha Dawalt

Keisha Dawalt,

Assistant Principal at Balfour Elementary

in Asheboro, shares the real story of her school.

Click here to read!

IMG 0493

IMG 0490 e1615303813103

Dr. Jamie King and Desire Freeman facilitate work with equity and standards.

Cohort III members learn to apply restorative practices with facilitator Effie McMillian.


Cohort IV

HPU is pleased to welcome the fourth cohort of principal candidates to the Leadership Academy.  Beginning in January 2019, these individuals start their journey to earning an M.Ed. in Educational Leadership.

Cohort IV stretches their thinking at the Center for Creative Leadership.

2021 Promotions:

  • Nicole Winsley named Curriculum Facilitator at Bennett Early College in Guilford County Schools!
  • Miles Catlett named Lead Counselor at Lexington High School!
  • Jennifer Cooper named Rookie Principal of the Year 2021 for Guilford County Schools!
  • Paul Clark named Lead Science Teacher at Surry’s STEM Magnet Middle School!

2022 Promotions:  

  • Frank Pantano is the new Director of Student Assignment in Winston-Salem Forsyth County Schools.
  • Anne Proctor has been named Curriculum Facilitator at Smith Elementary in Winston-Salem Forsyth County Schools.
  • Karen Morris will be Teacher Residency Director for WS/FCS!  In the role of Teacher Residency Director, Ms. Morris will support non-traditional beginning teachers as they earn their teaching license.  She will work to create an internal Teacher Residency program in WS/FCS to help recruit, train, and retain highly qualified teachers.
  • Nora Santillan is now the Director of Dual Language/ELL/Grants for Mt. Airy Schools.

Cohorts III and IV had an extraordinary learning experience with Dr. Ray Jones during their three day Instructional Leadership Institute.

Welcome to Cohorts V and VI!

We’re pleased to welcome our next Leadership Academy candidates to High Point University. Beginning in August 2020, 32 aspiring leaders join us from these partnering school districts: Cabarrus, Catawba, Davie, Guilford, Lincoln, Mooresville, Mt. Airy, Union, Winston-Salem/Forsyth, Vance and Yadkin. These individuals will participate in a full two year program, and they will serve as fulltime interns during the 2021-22 school year.

Cohort VDistrictCohort VIDistrict
Chris ForbisCabarrusJill ChilesCatawba
Shirma StoverCabarrusKatie HelmsCatawba
Teresa CarterDavieDaniel BooneGCS
SaraLe Matson GCSAntonia Elam GCS
Erick Pryor GCSAvery Steele GCS
Lisa Weisgarber-Trigg GCSAnthony Tangredi GCS
Toby BlairGCSKadrien Wilson GCS
Deborah Birchett MooresvilleEmily KerleyLincoln
Tabitha Richardson MooresvilleKaylor Kaemba Mooresville
Christina McDowellUnion Zsaquia Green GCS
Sam SmithsonUnionAmanda StinchcombUnion
Katiana DesgrottesWS/FCSJustin LeathUnion
Monique MarshallWS/FCSBrittany MarshallUnion
Angela CusaacVanceN-Kenga ReichWS/FCS
Dora MoldovanVanceDouglas SmithWS/FCS
Dalton Tedder Mt. AiryHannah AndrewsYadkin

Cohort V & VI Culminating Event 

Culminating Event Group Photo V & VI








Cohort V


Chris Forbis TOY Jan 2021

Cohort VI


Congratulations to Chris Forbis!! who was recognized as Teacher of the Year at Hickory Ridge High School in Cabarrus County!!

January 2021 

Anthony Tangredi





Congratulations to Anthony Tangredi!!!  

The 2020-21 Teacher of the Year for the Academy at Smith: Academy of Biomedical Technology and Specialized Health Sciences is Anthony Tangredi. Mr. Tangredi teaches mathematics at the Academy and has been a part of the Eagle family for three years and has been teaching for sixteen years. He is currently enrolled with the High Point University Leadership Academy to become an administrator in Guilford County Schools.

March 2021

Dr. Joe Sanfelippo kicked 2022 off for HPU LA Cohorts I-VI with inspiration and learning.

Cohort V Group Photo 5.22.21Cohort VI photo


Cohort VII

Cohort VII photo


HPU is pleased to welcome the Cohort VII Candidates

to the Leadership Academy.





Tavia Gilmore

Congratulations to Tavia Gilmore for being chosen as

Teacher of the Year at West Forsyth High School!